About

Welcome to the world of School Health Advisory Councils (SHAC)! The SHAC in Action: Partnering for Healthy Kids initiative is lead by a collaborative group under Texas Action for Healthy Kids (TAHK) SHAC Leadership Team, comprised of a variety of organizations and state agencies, each bringing a unique skill set to the initiative. Current SHAC in Action: Partnering for Healthy Kids partner organizations and agencies include: Action for Healthy Kids, YMCA, the Partnership for a Healthy Texas, IT’S TIME TEXAS, Texas AgriLife Extension, and Dairy Max.

Every school district is required to have a School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) and the toolkit designed to help initiate, enhance, and support SHACs throughout the state of Texas.

This page will connect you to a collection of resources and best practices from districts across the state. Additionally, you have access to online workshops, submit questions to our TAHK SHAC Leadership Team, tips for success and examples from other districts and the opportunity to connect with them.

You have access to the tools and resources, now put your SHAC in Action!

Join the LinkedIn Group!

Get Access to Free SHAC Tools & Resources Today!

The SHAC-in-Action: Partnering for Healthy Kids project is proud to provide access to a variety of best-in-class, SHAC-related tools and resources. Click the button below to check out these SHAC resources today.

SHAC Resources

2017 SHAC Award Application


The time has come to nominate your district’s School Health Advisory Council’s hard work and showcase their success!

The nomination opens Monday, February 6th and closes is Friday, April 7th.

CLICK HERE TO SUBMIT A NOMINATION

District winners Receive:

One free registration to the IT’S TIME TEXAS Healthier Summit (TBD)
$300 towards a District health initiative/program

This SHAC Award nomination is part of an initiative from the Texas Action for Healthy Kids’ SHAC Leadership Team, which includes experts from state-level agencies and organizations who are working to help SHACs across Texas.

2016 ITT SHAC Award Winners!

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination for the 2016 IT’S TIME TEXAS SHAC Award! After a panel of judges from the TAHK SHAC Leadership Team, reviewed the nominations and all the scores were tabulated, our winners were identified. Congratulations to the winners!

Leander ISD
North East ISD
Dallas ISD
Corpus Christi ISD
Frisco ISD

Winning SHACs received:
  • $300 used to further SHAC efforts
  • 1 free admission to theTexas Action for Healthy Kids Summit, (Feb 10, 2017, Austin, TX)
  • 1 free admission to the IT’S TIME TEXAS Summit (August 1 & 2, San Antonio, TX)
  • Letter and certificate for presenting to the School Board
  • Opportunity to lead a presentation during an IT’S TIME TEXAS webinar

2016 SHAC Awardee Photos


  • Corpus Christi ISD

  • North East ISD

  • Frisco ISD

  • Dallas ISD

  • Leander ISD

  • Leander ISD

  • Leander ISD

Past Winners


Carrollton Farmers Branch ISD (2015 Winner)
La Porte ISD (2015 Winner)
Coppell ISD (2015 Winner)
Spring Branch ISD (2015 Winner)
Pasadena ISD (2015 Winner)
Fredericksburg ISD (2014 Winner)
Laredo ISD (2014 Winner)
McAllen ISD (2014 Winner)
Pasadena ISD (2014 Winner)
Winona ISD (2014 Winner)

SHAC Online Workshops

Date Posted Time Duration Webinar Description
April 25, 2017 11:30 AM 60 Minutes SHACs in Action - Partnering for School Health - What Does the Law Say?  Click here to register for this upcoming webinar!
March 28, 2017 11:30 AM 60 Minutes SHACs in Action - Partnering for School Health - A Healthy School Food Culture.  Click here to register for this upcoming webinar!
February 28, 2017 11:30 AM 60 Minutes SHACs in Action - Partnering for School Health - Time for RECESS!  Click here to learn more!
October 25, 2016 11:30 AM 60 Minutes SHAC in Action:  Focusing on Social and Emotional Wellbeing.  Click here to learn more!
September 27, 2016 11:30 AM 60 Minutes SHAC in Action:  SHACs Impacting Wellness Change.  Click here to learn more!
August 30, 2016 11:30 AM 45 Minutes SHAC in Action: Resources for Recruiting Parents.  Click here to learn more!
May 24, 2016 11:00 AM 60 Minutes SHAC in Action: Campus Improvement Plan and Frisco ISD.  Click here to learn more!
April 26, 2016 11:00 AM 60 Minutes SHAC in Action: Partnering for School Health - Recess Policy. Click here to learn more!
March 25, 2016 11:00 AM 60 minutes SHAC in Action: Developing a Wellness Policy - Tools and Resources. Click here to learn more!

Request a SHAC Training

Some of the training materials might have already been covered and recorded in the SHAC-specific webinars (left), however, the TAHK SHAC Leadership Team members also provide trainings throughout the state, though a training cannot be guaranteed. If you are interested in attending an existing training or hosting your own training, please complete the form the in the link below.


SHAC Contacts

We’ve compiled a list of SHAC representatives, organized by district, who have kindly volunteered to provide share their insight and SHAC-related experiences.

School District Position First Last Email Phone
Alief ISD Alief ISD Wellness Coordinator Kelley Sullivan kelley.sullivan@aliefisd.net (832) 309-6759
Alto ISD Chair/Co-Chair Kim Holmes kholmes@alto.esc7.net (936) 858-7171
Anthony ISD School Nurse Marlene white mwhite@anthonyisd.net (915) 886-6552
Austin ISD Coordinator of Employee Assistance & Wellness Programs Melody Carlton melody.carlton@austinisd.org (512) 414-2282
Center Point ISD Chair/Co-Chair; Executive Director of Student Services Casey Johnson johnson@cpisd.net (830) 634-6126
Comal ISD PE/Health/Wellness CoordinatorCurriculum & Academic Services Micaeli Smith micaeli.smith@comalisd.org (830) 221-2187
Coppell ISD Tammy Gilstrap tgilstrap@coppellisd.com
Corpus Christi ISD Parent Co-Chair Executive Director of It’s Your Life Foundation Zehra Surani zsurani@gmail.com (361) 229-5561
Corpus Christi ISD PE Coordinator Richard Torres Richard.Torres@ccisd.us
Dallas ISD Director, Health and Physical Education/ Coordinated School Health Initiative Barbara Johnson barbarajohnson@dallasisd.org (972) 925-6790
Dallas ISD Coordinated School Health Specialist Catherine Vowell CVOWELL@dallasisd.org
Del Valle ISD Director of Health Services Molly Garcia Molly.Garcia@dvisd.net
Del Valle ISD Senior Healthcare Planner Megan Cermak Megan.Cermak@centralhealth.net
Detroit ISD Chair/Co-Chair Kelly Peek kpeek@detroiteagles.net (903) 517-0404
Fort Bend ISD Student Wellness Coordinator with UnitedHealthcare Stephanie Kellam skellam@uhc.com (281) 634-1132
Fort Bend ISD Chair Nomita Bajwa nomita.bajwa@gmail.com
Garland ISD Coordinator of Employee Wellness and Nutrition Liz Kiertscher EIKierts@garlandisd.net 972-487-3164
Houston ISD Felicia Cesear-White FCEASERW@houstonisd.org
Hunt ISD Verlene Wallace vwallace@huntisd.org (830) 238-4893
Lackland ISD (Military School – High Turnover) Member Angie Creedon creedonangie@gmail.com (210) 236-5370
Pasadena ISD Coordinated School Health Specialist Amber Macneish AMacneish@pasadenaisd.org
Pflugerville ISD Chair PE Teacher Docia Craft docia.craft@pfisd.net (512) 594-6090
Rockwall ISD District SHAC Advisor/ District Physical Education and Health and Wellness Coordinator Laurin DeStefano laurin.destefano@rockwallisd.org (972) 771-0605
Roscoe CISD Chair/ ESC Region 14 Rep Kaylie Skoviera kskoviera@roscoe.esc14.net (661) 364-1125
Sealy ISD Director of Special Programs Madeleine Peace mpeace@sealyisd.com (979) 885-3516
Smithville ISD Chair/Co-Chair Health Services Coordinator Sophie Weinheimer sweinheimer@smithvilleisd.org (512) 237-2407
Spring Branch ISD Advanced Movers Coordinator Samuel Karns samuel.karns@springbranchisd.com (832) 606-2693
Tyler ISD Co-Chair RN, BSN Mindy Ward Mindy.m.ward@gmail.com (903) 530-6083
Van ISD Deputy Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment Donna Wallace wallaced@vanisd.org (903) 963-8711
Woodsburrow ISD School Nurse Carolyn Baker carolyn_baker@wisd.net 361-543-8000

Become a Resource

Become a resource in the SHAC community by sharing your contact information below. We’ll add you to the list of SHAC Contacts, who have volunteered to share tips, resources, recommendations, and information about their experiences with the SHAC community.


SHAC Success Stories


Submit a SHAC Question

Have a SHAC-related question? Our TAHK SHAC Leadership Team will review your submissions and get back to you soon as we can.


SHAC-in-Action: Partnering for Healthy Kids Team


Texas Action for Healthy Kids
Dairy Max
YMCA
Partnership for a Healthy Texas
TAHPERD
Texas A&M Ag.
ITT