School Health Advisory Council Awards
An Initiative from the Texas Action for Healthy Kids’ SHAC Leadership Team

We are pleased to announce that for the fifth year It’s Time Texas in partnership with Texas Action for Healthy Kids will be sponsoring the 2018 SHAC Awards. Five school district’s School Health Advisory Councils will be recognized for their efforts in promoting health and wellness for students and staff in their districts. Applications will be accepted March 7th to April 15th.

Apply Here

About the SHAC Awards

Every year, SHAC in Action member organizations select five School Health Advisory Councils from a pool of applicants using a set of criteria including the number of active council members, number of participating students and parents, frequency of meetings, reporting practices, number of issue areas addressed, and accomplishments this school year. Apply Here.

District winners Receive:

Two free registrations for the Healthier Texas Summit October 25-26 in Austin, TX, one for a district representative and one for a parent representative; a travel stipend for the Summit; and one free registration for the 2019 TAHK annual summit.

This SHAC Award nomination is part of an initiative from the Texas Action for Healthy Kids’ SHAC Leadership Team, which includes experts from state-level agencies and organizations who are working to help SHACs across Texas.

2018 ITT SHAC Award Winners!

We are proud to announce the 2018 School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Award Winners! We had many wonderful applicants, and with such a strong field of contenders, it was tough to choose just five winners. The SHACs are doing amazing work to create and sustain healthy schools. Congratulations to the winners, Cuero ISD, Fort Bend ISD, McAllen ISD, Pasadena ISD, and San Antonio ISD!

Click here to learn more about the incredible accomplishments of this year’s winners.

Cuero ISD
Fort Bend ISD
McAllen ISD
Pasadena ISD
San Antonio ISD!
Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
Comal ISD
Lampasas ISD
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD
Spring Branch ISD
Leander ISD
North East ISD
Dallas ISD
Corpus Christi ISD
Frisco ISD
Carrollton Farmers Branch ISD
La Porte ISD
Coppell ISD
Spring Branch ISD
Pasadena ISD
Fredericksburg ISD
Laredo ISD
McAllen ISD
Pasadena ISD
Winona ISD

SHAC-in-Action: Partnering for Healthy Kids Team

Dairy Max
Partnership for a Healthy Texas
Texas A&M Ag.